Tuesday, January 11, 2011


During the sweltering Summer of 1988, The Secret Society convened at Horse and Buggy Highway Studios in Shippensburg, PA to record songs for their debut release. This rev (Rev 2) of The Secret Society was comprised of members from This Mistress and concentrated on recording original songs written by M Scott McConnell and Matt Norcross.

When we weren't sweating to death (there were no air conditioners in the studio) or doing "serious" recording, we would sometimes roll tape and record some live versions of the songs with whoever happened to be visiting the studio at that time. This recording of Progressions is one such recording. It features M Scott McConnell (Synthesizers), Matt Norcross (Bass), Tim Harrell ("Live" Drum Machine), Ken Chandler (Vocals), and Kevin "Bart the Fart" Wilson (Guitar). It was recorded direct to a Fostex X-15 cassette 4-Track. It's distorted and sonically poor but still a fun listen. I hope you enjoy it.

P.S. This photo was taken at the This Mistress performance at Wynn Ruffin's Birthday Party in Summer 1988. Pictured (L to R) is the line up featured on the recording. Matt Norcross (Bass), Kevin "Bart the Fart" Wilson (Guitar), M Scott McConnell (Synthesizers), Tim Harrell (Drums), and Ken Chandler (Vocals).

No comments: